The full roster for the 2018 Mae Young Classic is almost set, as three more names were confirmed by WWE today. Hiroyo Matsumoto, Aerial Monroe and Vanessa Kraven will be joining previously announced names such as Toni Storm, Nicole Matthews and Killer Kelly in this year’s tournament.

Let’s take a look at today’s announcements.

Hiroyo Matsumoto

Another Japanese wrestling legend joins the MYC this year in “Lady Destroyer” Hiroyo Matsumoto. The 12-year veteran is renowned for both her technical skill and raw power; in fact, her nickname was earned after breaking a wall in her Ice Ribbon debut match. As can be said about many of the women in this year’s tournament, Matsumoto is a well-decorated performer worldwide; she’s held championships in no less than nine promotions, incredibly holding four championships at once. The 25th ranked wrestler on the PWI Top 50 Females list this year is a name to watch out for in the MYC.

Aerial Monroe

A relative newcomer to the wrestling industry, Aerial Monroe is yet another name to watch out for in this year’s tournament. While her three years of in-ring training may be less than most other competitors in the MYC this year, she’s no less deadly. The woman known as “Big Swole” was trained by current Cruiserweight Champion Cedric Alexander after completing her time in the United States Air Force, and her rare combination of speed and strength give her an advantage over many of the current roster members.

Vanessa Kraven

Another imposing figure in this year’s Mae Young Classic is 6’2 Vanessa Kraven. Known as “The Mountain”, the Canadian independent wrestling legend is well known for both her brute strength and veteran savvy, working across a variety of promotions worldwide. She’s been a SHIMMER Tag Team Champion with IMPACT! star Tessa Blanchard, and was the #35 ranked member on the PWI Top 50 Females listing in 2016. We’re always Canadian-biased at Win Column Sports, but in this case it’s justified - Kraven is a genuine monster, and I don’t envy anyone having to face her.

Here’s your current roster for the 2018 Mae Young Classic:

  • Kaitlyn
  • Rhea Ripley
  • Io Shirai
  • Kacy Catanzaro
  • Nicole Matthews
  • Jinny
  • Deonna Purrazzo
  • Tegan Nox
  • Jessica Elaban
  • Reina González
  • Mercedes Martinez
  • Kavita Devi
  • Crystal
  • Killer Kelly
  • Mia Yim
  • Karen Q
  • Isla Dawn
  • Zeuxis
  • Lacey Lane
  • Toni Storm
  • Meiko Satomura
  • Ashley Rayne
  • Priscilla Kelly
  • Xia Brookside
  • Aerial Monroe
  • Vanessa Kraven
  • Hiroyo Matsumoto

Stay tuned to Win Column Sports for more updates on the 2018 Mae Young Classic as they develop.

Last Five:

BREAKING: WWE Announces Three More Names for Mae Young Classic
Tagged on:                                                                     

Spencer Love

Once stood in front of Cedric Alexander in line at a hotel. Slightly big deal.

Leave a Reply